top of page
Writer's pictureJoseph Gitau

Versatile Imposters

Hey, MisWired here. And as I follow the American elections from Nairobi, it got me thinking. As people, we feel as if we have to follow a certain path because that's what we're told we should follow. And more often than not, we don't have a choice in whether we should even follow that path. So what happens if the path that we end up following is wrong. I think that's what we ask ourselves when we are considered twice exceptional. I feel that more often than not, we are jacks (or jills) of all trades, but we never get to master any of those trades because we aren't given the time, or space, to master them.

I guess because I'm often told that I'm good at multiple things, I've always asked myself whether I'm actually good at them or I just got lucky. Somehow I find myself thinking that it's a bit of both. You could say I'm talented in many things, but I got lucky with others. That means when people often interact with me, you would assume that I could fit in any field. And more often than not, if I wasn't in that field, you would think that I should be in it. But that brings up the dilemma of whether I should consider doing them.

At the end of the day, what people tend to forget is that we often have desires and needs that also need to be fulfilled. People assume that we don't know ourselves and what we want, but that's only because we aren't given the chance to explore, figure out and say what we want. And as we grow up, we assume that people aren't interested in what we have to say, or even that they believe that we aren't good at anything. And I think that's something we're going to have to figure out how to stop feeling like eventually.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page