top of page
Writer's pictureJoseph Gitau

The Anxiety Beneath the Facade

Hey there, MisWired here. And today I want to talk about anxiety. It's something that all of us face on a daily basis, yet we don't talk about it enough. Personally, I've hidden my anxiety for years as I felt that it made me less of a person, and I didn't want people to think less of me. Due to that, I always pretended to be something that I wasn't hoping that people would want to be friends with me. Ironically, it took me a while to realize that people liked me for who I was. Yet, I forced myself into a sort of impostor role. My anxiety made me believe things about myself that weren't exactly true, and the facade that I built to protect my very low confidence didn't really help things. As I look back on it, I probably came across as either very full of myself or very insecure, or even both. And when you have anxiety, or even any sort of mental disorder, your self-image is the first thing that takes a hit, sometimes even going to the point of crafting an image of yourself that you want others to see. And it may get to a point where you can't separate your created image from who you actually are. That's what I ended up doing, and am trying to change my view of myself. So at the end of the day, what I'm trying to say is, sometimes anxiety forces people to pretend to be someone they aren't just to be accepted since they believe that they won't be accepted or amount to anything. I know I believed that.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page