top of page
Writer's pictureJoseph Gitau

5 Years Later

So after over 5 years of content creation across multiple forms and platforms, I've learnt a lot as I grew as a creator. While I haven't uploaded a lot, I still did a lot of work behind the scenes, a lot of which I've never been confident to follow through with. And this post is something I've wanted to do for a while, talking about my journey as a creator and what I wish I had done differently. And because of that, I'll tackle each aspect of my creative journey in their own section, as well as a general across the board thoughts.


Starting off, I've been able to grow a community of amazing people, both as a blogger, and author, and am currently trying to grow my presence on YouTube and Wattpad. And one thing I've realized is that I need some form of schedule, as much as I hate it. As many creators will tell you, starting out you need to post consistently, regardless of the quality. And for a while, I was doing that. But at some point, I was starting to question my own growth as a creator. Not in the numbers sense, but more so in the quality sense. Because of my "shotgun" approach to creation, I tend to put out my thoughts as I have then, and rarely go back to do quality assurance. And that is something I'm trying to do nowadays, if I weren't so stressed about my drop in production. While I do say that when starting out, not to worry about quality too much, I do realize that at some point people will expect quality. Especially if you're asking them to support you financially. And that's a major bottleneck for a lot of creators. And while I would like to think that my content is getting better, it may not be getting better as fast as I would like it to.


With my general thoughts out of the way, I want to talk about my blog. MisWired KE has really been growing in ways I never thought possible when I started out. When I started out, MisWired was mostly just a way to share my poetry, but eventually turned into a way for me to share my journey with ADHD and Bipolar and some of the faults I've noticed in the Kenyan system. And while I've tried to be as honest and open as I can, there have been a lot of things I haven't felt comfortable talking about. There's a lot when it comes to my experiences both pre and post diagnosis that I'm yet to come to terms with, but I do feel like talking about them is helping me process them. And that's why I've been really slow with new posts. Coming up with ideas has never been an issue. It's always the "writing" of the post that has held me back. I always keep questioning whether I'm the right person to tackle a topic, or if I have relevant experience. And that holds me back from writing. I think as I get more confident, you'll see more of the posts I had in mind, but for now, I'll stick to what I am currently doing.


And then there are my fiction stories. So far, I've released two fictional stories as well as three anthologies under both MisWired and Johnathan Gaspar. And while I won't say they are the absolute worst, they are far from good. And that's kinda where I am at the moment. Any time I spend not blogging or working on potential YouTube videos is spent working on new stories or working on new chapters for existing stories. Again, a schedule would help, but clearly my brain decided to YOLO my content creation career and I'm here trying to see where it will go. I do have a lot in store on that end, it's up to when I eventually release stuff.


And that's it for everything up to now. What's in store for the future? Well, for starters, try to be more consistent. And that includes YouTube. I've been trying my hand at turning blog posts into YouTube videos, as well as recording let's plays, but I've not been happy with the way they've been turning out, so I put that on hold for the time being. I'm also getting into game dev and animation. You've probably seen hints of it floating around, whether it be Heathen's Hollow or The Billionaire's Club. But before I seriously work on it, I want to set up a company to be the front for all those projects. And hopefully that makes it easier for me to raise money to fund all the ideas I have. I'm also working on incentives to grow my community. I look at content creation as a full time job, and I need to make sure that I can comfortably earn in order to start on my larger projects and ideas. Which is why Patreon and Ko-fi exclusives are something I'm looking into rolling out soon. I'm also launching a Discord server where I want to post project updates more regularly. Right now it's in its infant stages, but eventually I plan on putting updates on everything there.


And that's about it from me. It's been a wild five years, but a fun and enlightening one. Hopefully as I grow, I will be able to look back at this period with fondness. And from the bottom of my heart, thank you to everyone who has joined me on this journey. None of this would have been possible without you. And as more join us, hopefully you see the vision that I'm trying to bring to life. I'm not the best at expressing myself, or even putting myself out there. But the more I do it, the less scary it becomes. Thanks for reading this, and supporting me, and look forward to more.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page